I've forgotten my password

November 2018 - Autumn Classics

18th November 2018, 15:00

November 2018 - Autumn Classics

An afternoon concert of romantic music, opening with the overture to one of Wagner's most famous operas. We follow this with the slow movement of Mahler's 5th Symphony, a piece made famous by the film "Death in Venice".

We are delighted to welcome back Joo Yeon Sir to play the lovely violin Concerto by Bruch, a firm favourite in the repertoire. Forming the second half of our concert, Symphony no.2 by Elgar is truly an Edwardian piece - dedicated to King Edward VII, Elgar felt he had poured his soul into this music.

This concert at the Stag Theatre is part of our season ticket scheme, other tickets can be booked now at the Stag Theatre Box Office.

If you'd like to listen to the music that we'll be playing, here are some links to YouTube:

Wagner : Overture to The Flying Dutchman      

Mahler : Adagietto from Symphony no. 5

Bruch : Violin Concerto no. 1

Elgar : Symphony no. 2

Powered by Conceptulise CMS